The John Frederick Adrian Sprent Prize is a substantial prize in cash presented to a member of the Society who in the opinion of a selection committee appointed by the Council has written an outstanding thesis in Parasitology for which the PhD degree was awarded during the previous three years. Nominations are called every three years but the prize need not be given at every selection. The prize is marked by the presentation of a cheque and certificate to the recipient together with a medal as a permanent token of achievement, and by a lecture from the recipient to the Society. The recipient will receive reimbursement of reasonable travel costs to the annual meeting of the Society at which the prize is presented and will be a guest of the Society for the duration of the meeting. The nominees for this prize must be financial members of the Society for at least 18 months. A selection committee judges assess the nominees work and recommends the recipient to the Council of the Society. Nominations must be made by a proposer and seconder who are members of the Society and nominations must be accompanied by 2 copies of the nominee’s thesis and a detailed statement describing the merits of the research and thesis signed by the proposer and seconder. The Committee also require a complete curriculum vitae and copies of any publications arising from the work which post-date the thesis. Permission of the nominee is not required and the nominee need not be informed of the nomination.

The closing date for applications is 30th September in the calendar year preceding the award of the prize. Electronic or hardcopy applications will be accepted. Please send applications to ASP Executive Secretary by the closing date.

Dr Rina Wong presented with the JFA Sprent Prize 2014 by Professor Robin Gasser


1987 DR Hennessy
1990 SC Barker
1993 NB Chilton
1997 J Bowles
1999 J Waterkeyn
2002 SL Cameron
2005 R Traub
2008 M Ellis
2011 C Spry
2014 Rina Wong
2017 Julie Burel